Reviews & Testimonials

Absolute gem! Beautiful, delicious authentic Italian home cooking, and homemade vino. Welcoming atmosphere, even comes with a great show of singing! Would definitely return and recommend!! Cassandra Rose Di Michele October 31st, 2017
Excellent pizza and amazing, friendly service. Authentic Italian food at a great price. Would give it 10 stars if I could! Daniel Ford October 31st, 2017
Fantastic Italian food with equally fantastic service! The takeaway pasta and pizza specials are excellent value, with the homemade gnocchi (with prosciutto, cream and cheese) being a personal favourite. If you decide to eat in instead, the menu is hearty and authentic and is accompanied by some of the best dinner entertainment in Melbourne. Olive Jar owner Giovanni regularly serenades guests with a selection of old favourites from Elvis to Dean Martin. All of the above goes great with a glass (or several) of their homemade vino de casa. Highly recommended. Jonty Hall October 31st, 2017
I've been in the olive jar now 3 times the gluten free base pizzas have to be the best in Australia. The ambience is incredible Italian, the staff great and the take away pizza and pasta at $10 has to be the best in town. Love this place. Alejandra Lopez October 31st, 2017
Wonderful home style Italian food with a very warm welcome. Very warm and friendly with fun and authentic staff. Genuine people with excellent service. Dave Eales October 31st, 2017
Great traditional pizzas and pasta. Reasonable prices and good service. Walter Luciano October 31st, 2017
Very welcoming and friendly. We had an excellent birthday dinner made very special by your singing and lemoncello! Thank you once again. -) Dave Eales October 31st, 2017
The best pasta and pizzas I have had for a while. Been there 6 timers in the last year and each time with different groups of people and all of them thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The host is absolutely brilliant. A great dining experience. I will continue to dine there and bring others along. Albert July 25th, 2017
Hi my family came for Christmas 2 years ago and loved it - awesome food (too much) and fun relaxed service and atmosphere - are you open for Easter Sunday 2017?Thanks Elvira Elvira Andreoli July 25th, 2017
Google Review in the last week- Fantastic Italian food with equally fantastic service! The takeaway pasta and pizza specials are excellent value, with the homemade gnocchi (with prosciutto, cream and cheese) being a personal favourite. If you decide to eat in instead, the menu is hearty and authentic and is accompanied by some of the best dinner entertainment in Melbourne. Olive Jar owner Giovanni regularly serenades guests with a selection of old favourites from Elvis to Dean Martin. All of the above goes great with a glass (or several) of their homemade vino de casa. Highly recommended. Jonty Hall July 25th, 2017
Google review a month ago- I've been in the olive jar now 3 times the gluten free base pizzas have to be the best in Australia. The ambiance is incredible Italian, the staff great and the take away pizza and pasta at $10 has to be the best in town. Love this place. Alejandra Lopez July 25th, 2017
Google review a month ago- Absolute gem! Beautiful, delicious authentic Italian home cooking, and homemade vino. Welcoming atmosphere, even comes with a great show of singing! Would definitely return and recommend!! Cassandra Rose Di Michele July 25th, 2017
Google review 3 weeks ago- Excellent pizza and amazing, friendly service. Authentic Italian food at a great price. Would give it 10 stars if I could! Daniel Ford July 25th, 2017
Google review in the last week- The pizzas at this place are just fantastic! For a ten dollar take away feed, it's hard to find a better pizza place Melanie Scott July 25th, 2017
Google review a month ago- Incredibly cozy atmosphere ) The pizza and service are amazing as well. Monique Donal July 25th, 2017
Google review a month ago- Wonderful $10 pizza for takeaway. Would highly recommend the Hot Salami. Rory Watts July 25th, 2017
Google review a week ago- Great food, a place with character, friendly staff who put on a great show! Lachlan Fletcher July 25th, 2017
Zomato review 27 days ago RATED 5.0 Love this place! It's feels like your in Italy! Man with a guitar and a beautiful food! Everything is fresh and cooked in the premises. Love the customer service as well. Deltalisaaa July 25th, 2017
Zomato review one month ago RATED 5.0 Amazing Italian Pasta and Pizza at its best. We stumbled across this cute little Italian place on the weekend and we were pleasantly surprised by the decor and ambiance it had to offer. Home cut pasta of gnocchi, spaghetti, fettuccini , ravioli all rolled in front of you. I have been to a lot of pasta restaurants in my time and I can say that the Olive Jar is the best hands down!! The sauces taste so authentic just like my grandma would make. After trying the Antipasto and pasta we had no room for dessert. My husband with the sweet tooth tried the Tiramisu and ohh boy was it to die for. Come and try this place if you want the real deal in Italian cooking and atmosphere. Well done! Giada
httpswww.zomato.comusersgiada-42562074
July 25th, 2017
If you're after wholesome, traditional, tasty food this is the place to go! Family of 18 celebrated anniversary lunch- excellent service & delicious food. Antipasto platters are sliced & prepared in main dining area right before your eyes, delicious home made organic Italian wine, pasta is cut fresh to order & served in the frypan it was cooked in. The bonus was Giovanni who sang songs to entertain us-& yes he can sing! A memorable & enjoyable time- thanks again Giovanni to you & your staff! Kelso
January 13, 2016
January 13th, 2017
Best meal I've had in ages. Don't miss the Tiramisu. Friendly, welcoming staff, vibrant atmosphere. Pasta so fresh and house wines fine. anonymous December 16th, 2016
As we sat down we were welcomed to the family and given a suggestion of Antipasta and the home made red wine which we had 2 bottles of. Food and atmosphere fantastic, what a great night plus you get entertainment. Cassandra
December 9, 2016
December 16th, 2016
The staff are excellent The food was so tasty that each time I visit from Western Australia I have to go there as a place to go I went there last week with a couple of work colleagues and all of us had a fantastic time and just to top it off, the owner started to sing Unbelievable Highly recommended for all those that love Italian food the authentic way. We will be going there again as soon as we put a foot on Victorian soil Kim John Gascoigne
November 2016
November 25th, 2016
Been here 3 times. Their pizza bases are soo good! My favourite pizza was the 4 cheeses one. Terrible I know, but man oh man it's tasty! The staff and owners are so friendly and you can tell they really love their restaurant. Good family vibe. Would highly recommend. Tripadvisor
June, 20th 2016
July 8th, 2016
The best Italian food we have had! Welcoming and friendly staff, excellent atmosphere - we loved the decor, and everything was home made! You really do have to come here, such lovely people and incredible food! Tripadvisor
June, 5th 2016
July 8th, 2016
Quaint very Italian restaurant...on the night we went there was just three long tables, with around 10-12 on each. Great welcoming host who paid special attention to the children and got out his microphone and serenaded us with Italian songs from the movies when we'd finished eating. Lavish, amazingly fresh share platters of antipasto with chunks of delicious olive bread. The pastas were served in the pans they were cooked in (big enough for 2) and the tiramisu was brought out in a big bowl and a huge scoop placed on the share serving plates. So good! The best I've ever tasted. The house wine was delicious too. Lovely Italian waitresses. Great fun night out. Tripadvisor
June, 2nd 2016
July 8th, 2016
Best Gluten free pasta and pizza we've had for a long, long time. Great service too as we got there early. Loved it Zomato
June 2016
July 8th, 2016
Enjoyed a lovely pizza today at the Olive Jar. The freshly sliced prosciutto was a nice addition to a quality pizza. I haven't had such a delicious pizza in a long while. I was so impressed I ordered a takeaway pizza as well. At a price of $10 takeaway what a nice win. Looking forward to trying the homemade pasta next time. Zomato
June 2016
July 8th, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised by this lovely restaurant. The pasta is homemade and was so tasty and filling. I also loved the tiramisu which was served out of a big bowl. The service was friendly and attentive. As good as the food was, I think the atmosphere made it even more memorable, with live singing by the owner. My family loved it too. We will definitely be back. Zomato
June 2016
July 8th, 2016
I've been here a number of times and have always loved the food, service and atmosphere. Last night however was a stand out experience. I took my mum and her partner, visiting from Adelaide to celebrate mum's birthday. The owner sang live songs for us, and got the other guests involved in singing happy birthday. It was above and beyond. The food was incredible as always - salmon gnocchi, linguini pancetta and linguini meatballs. Garlic focaccia to start and tiramisu with gelati (3 flavours) to end, along with what was called 'the best espresso ever' by my guests. The Olive Jar is a delightful, small, understated family business that serves the freshest, tastiest Italian I've ever eaten outside of Italy. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Full of charm, good home cooking and friendly staff. GO NOW! anonymous June 15th, 2016
My partner and I ordered antipasto, hot salami pizza and cream mushroom pasta. It was delicious came out quick, everything was fresh and made with love. The people working were very welcoming, wonderful and beautiful. The owner was entertaining and sang beautifully. We really enjoyed our time here, and will definitely return. Thank you Stephanie June 15th, 2016
rustic and as authentic as you will get Don't expect haute cuisine here, it is hearty, rustic Italian food that you might get in an Italian village. The pasta is fresh and made on the spot. The flavours are authentic, and the delicious house wine is poured for you from flagons. Portions are generous and you will certainly not go away hungry. The tira misu is served out of a huge mixing bowl and each serve is plenty for two people. You can buy house made bread and pickled vegetables as well. Don't overlook it. TripAdvisor June 8th, 2016
Great family night out Quaint very Italian restaurant...on the night we went there was just three long tables, with around 10-12 on each. Great welcoming host who paid special attention to the children and got out his microphone and serenaded us with Italian songs from the movies when we'd finished eating. Lavish, amazingly fresh share platters of antipasto with chunks of delicious olive bread. The pastas were served in the pans they were cooked in (big enough for 2) and the tiramisu was brought out in a big bowl and a huge scoop placed on the share serving plates. So good! The best I've ever tasted. The house wine was delicious too. Lovely Italian waitresses. Great fun night out. TripAdvisor June 8th, 2016
Yummy If you want authentic home made pasta and pizza...eat here. Thumbs up Ambience is rustic and homely. Staff is lovely and attentive. Simple concept but fantastic. TripAdvisor June 8th, 2016
Now THIS is nayce!!! Very Very Nayysssss!! The Swine went Italiano for lunch today and what a belissimo deliciiasso delight it was. The Swine thinks the world of the Olive Jar in Carlton. This is definitely not a stroooonzo place!! It is rather wonderful. The Olive Jar has a lovely rustic homely feel with paintings on the wall which reek of Italy. The decor and surrounds add to the whole eat in italiano experience. Food here is authentic and the staff are wonderful. Great to chat to, friendly, and sincere. For eats - crusty bread and quality oil, to dip into, was our starter. The Swine then experienced the marinara pasta. This came out straight off the flame, in a large sizzle pan as the plate. Staff freshly shred quality cheese onto the pasta dish which is also a nice touch. Seafood tasted fresh, the pasta was perfecto, and the serving was generous...justa right for the Swines big guts!! To finish - our group of piglettos shared a serve of Tiramisu which was divine. This came out in a big bowl to dish out...home style and soooo good... the Swine cannot say a bad thing - Grazi!! - Thank You Olive Jar - Sophia I loves you. Nunzio, you is a master chefski and deserves a hug. Franko will do this. The Swine will be back heres. The Olive Jar is absolutely Swine Approved!! Zomato June 8th, 2016
Dinner for eight at the Olive Jar last night, our Melbourne hosts explained that this establishment is more about the atmosphere than the food which in part was true however that tends to unfairly suggest that the food takes second place, we all started with two heavily laden platters of Antipasto, there was more than enough in variety and volume for eight hungry diners, from there it was orders of hand made pastas matched to various available sauces which were delivered to the table in individual saucepans, all members of our party gave their meals the thumbs up The evening finished with lashings of Tiramisu served straight from a huge bowl tableside Most of the meal was accompanied with crooning from the owner ( not always in tune)and happy wait staff, we took BYO but the drinks menu is extensive enough for most This place was terrific for our party and a good time was had by all! Zomato June 8th, 2016
Dropped over from Perth. Keen to try a $10 pizza. Absolutely great value, blown away. Place has a nice Italian feel to it. Owner appears a very traditional man with accommodating personality. May move to Melbourne to live off these delicious under priced $10 pizza. Thank you Google June 8th, 2016
The best Italian resturant in Melbourne Rob February 22nd, 2016
Tiramisu to die for! If you want the best homemade tiramisu ever...the olive jar is where you will find itAmazing flavours...followed by homemade chilled limocello and a song by giovanni. Best place!!! Source
Trip Advisor
February 3rd, 2016
If you are looking for the authentic Italian experience this is the place to go. Shared antipasto which was piled high with delicious cured meats pecorino and pickles, hand made pasta to die for share plates of desserts filled with home made tiramisu, blood orange sorbet and honey puffs. We finished off with house made limoncello whilst serenaded with volare. Couldn't have asked for s better night. Source
Zomato
January 12th, 2016
Amazing food with equally beautiful Italian decor and authentic vibe, as if the whole restaurant had been transported straight from the homeland. Pasta was served straight from the kitchen in the fry pan it was served, with crispy bread and olive oil. Homemade gelato and coffee for dessert. All very reasonably priced and wonderful service. Will definitely go again when in Melbourne Source
Zomato
January 12th, 2016
Bellissimo!!!!! Best italian restaurant Best pasta Fantastic pizza..great $10 pizza and pasta. Amazing homemade vino Delicious desserts Fabulous singing by the waiter Excellent service This place is my favourite place....love it Source
Zomato
January 12th, 2016
Not only great food at reasonable prices and an old atmosphere but the team that make it all tick are a lot of fun. Lunch, dinner or take out you'll always leave with a smile on your face. Source
Google
January 11th, 2016
BEST PASTA EVER!!! Tried this little Italian restaurant in Carlton. What a lovely place. Fresh delicious homemade pasta served in a cooking pan. Great touch! The staff went out of their way to look after us. Very homely and authentic. If you want to try a good Italian restaurant in Carlton with good food, this is the place!!!! Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
AMAZING AND TRUE AUTENTICO When you travel and look for a great and autentico Italian food? It has to sodisfy the need. This cosy gem place THE OLIVE JAR PIZZERIA in carlton has all my positive ticks. Fresh home made pasta made in front of you, great authentic pizzas. wonderful desserts, like the zeppole dolci calabresi, great coffee, great ambience and great value for money. Thank you to all the staff at the olive jar ... see you very soon. Ps great music also.... Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
Fantastic!!! The food is amazing here. The best italian restaurant by far. Tried a lot of italian restaurants and none have made an impression like the olive jar. Good food..homemade pasta made infront of you. Great desserts and entertainment. In my opinion if you want the real deal when it comes to casalinga traditional italian food. The olive jar is the place. Delicious!!!! Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
Bringing village style Italian to Rathdowne Street Invited along to the Olive Jar for a friends Birthday. I must say parking in the area is problematic. The Olive Jar is a real family style Italian restaurant. Definitely a large groupspecial occasion venue. The food is good without being great. Reasonably priced and home made. BYO wine which is fantastic. The owner even sings to his attentive audience in a genuine attempt to make you feel at home. This restaurant is gathering many devoted followers so book to avoid disappointment. The Olive Jar has more character and good service than the vast majority of restaurants in Carlton. Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
More authentically Italian than in Italy If you love Italian, and especially the atmosphere, then you'll love this place. On entry you will see the their pasta being freshly made. The proprietor also sings to his patrons and when he does, Dean Martin is resurrected! From fish to pasta, to home made wine and home made delicious gelato, this is like being transported to Italy itself. We two families happened across it via its listing in the Entertainment Book, and after our daughters' graduation from Melbourne Uni it added the perfect end to the day. Will definitely be going back. Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
Authentic food and atmosphere The Olive Jar gives you the experience of an authentic italian kitchen. The antipasto plate is a riot of cold meats, marinated vegetables, olives, and hunks of bread, and was a definite highlight. The pizzas had a nice crispy base and basic, traditional toppings, and were very nice. We visited on a Sunday afternoon and although we were seated outside, there was singing and much hilarity inside, which sounded like a lot of fun. It's not a trendy, gourmet place, but it has good, honest homestyle food and a welcoming atmosphere. Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
Authentic and welcoming Having visited Italy several times it seem bizarre that I should discover the best pasta I have eaten in Australia! This really is an authentic Italian experience from the food to the vino di casa and the warm welcome. If you are lucky you will be entertained by the proprietor to a Dean Martin medley! Do not miss this experience! Source
TripAdvisor
December 14th, 2015
This little gem is a must try !Homemade pasta made right in front of you but also their pizza's weren't too oily, base wasn't thick, toppings were the right amount for each slice and an inexpensive place to eat. Not only is The Olive Jar cosy and has a warm feeling, but the chefs and waiters were tentative and friendly.Will now be our regular spot for a homemade Italian feed. Source
Zomato
November 20th, 2015
The pasta is amazing. The pizza is amazing. The atmosphere is amazing. The owner is amazing. Don't even bother reading any more reviews, just go here now. It's so so so good. Seriously. Enjoy. You're welcome! Source
Zomato
November 20th, 2015
Never attend Italian resturants (despite having an Italian background) because nothing is like mum's cooking. But The Olive Jar really is. Not only was the food fantastic. The service and atmosphere was amazing with live singing by the owner. Classic, charasmatic and overall a great experience! If I could rate 1010 I would. Will be back. Source
Zomato
November 20th, 2015
Though Lygon street is filled with numerous italian restaurants, with all the italian greetings its quite a tough choice to select which is a good palce for your dinner night. Its places quiet and small like these where you can hardly expect anything seeing it from outside are wonders inside. You can't miss Giovani's wonderful greeting or Girogia with an I as you walk in. Best Mushroom cream sauce pasta Their pasta as they say is house made super soft, cooked beautifully and served straight along with the pan. ) Dessert, order a tiramisu, just wait until Giorgia gets a big tub of Tiramisu and scoops in to serve a wholesome onto your plate. That tiramisu dessert is heavenly. End it with a good shot of espresso.. it was our date night, we can never forget that beautiful night.. Thanks Giovani, Giorgia and whole Olive Jar team for such a wonderful experience. You guys are the best in Pasta, Pizza and those pickled olives. Good Luck Source
Zomato
October 26th, 2015
Cosy little GEM!! 5 of 5 stars Came here for a work dinner. Ambience, food and hospitality all fantastic!!! The staff here go above and beyond. Everyone enjoyed the night immensely. Cannot wait to return to this place A Source
Tripadvisor
October 9th, 2015
What a great place. We had a family celebration there and had a ball. The antipasto had a number of home made elements and the fresh pasta was amazing. The closest I have been to a genuine Italian trattoria since my last trip to Italy. The Olive Jar is the complete package of food and fanfare with an Italian serenade thrown in for good measure. Source
Zomato
September 28th, 2015
Beautiful food, beautiful atmosphere! Would highly recommend the prosciutto cream pasta. The pasta is made in front of you and absolutely amazing. The host was hilarious, singing and having an awesome time. It was homely and service was fantastic. Authentic Italian at its best! Source
Zomato
September 28th, 2015
Getting the whole southern Italian hospitality poured on an quite frankly it's quite enjoyable. Bring on the traditional Italian food I say Source
Zomato
September 10th, 2015
We kept driving up and down Rathdowne Street the pass few nights and noticed that it was very popular so we decided to try this place tonight after reading a lot of great reviews on other foodie websites. Well we were not disappointed. We had the Antipasto dish between the three of us - delicious! Two people had the pizzas prosciutto and the spicy and it was huge and looked delicious. I had the pasta with seafood. There's a guy by the entrance who's job is making pasta! And it was seriously good! Giovanni who seated us was really friendly and the service was excellent and everyone here is so friendly! Will definitely be back when we visit Melbourne again. Source
Yelp
August 26th, 2015
Il migliore ristorante autentico italiano Sono a melbourne da tre mesi e visitando la citt,amici italiani mi hanno raccomandato questo tipico ristorante autentico italiano. Personale accogliente e a dir poco gentile.. cucina autentica italiana,pasta e pizza fatta in casa,stesa davanti a noi,vino organico fatto in casa, pesce fresco,carne squisita..qualit prezzo eccellente. Serata meravigliosa anche nel finale con una bellissima esibizione canora del manager del ristorante giovanni mico',riproponendo grandi classici di frank sinatra,dean martin ecc..dolce e caff buonissimi!! Vi raccomando assolutamente questo ristorante se siete di passaggio a melbourne..posto incantevole .. Visited August 2015 Source
Trip Advisor
August 24th, 2015
AUTHENTIC ITALIAN COOKING Stumbled on this little restaurant (seats about 35 only). However, I feel like with struck gold. The food (authentic home made Italian cuisine) is amazing, the staff are equally amazing and hospitable. I hardly want to share info on this place. This has become our favourite little restaurant. Visited July 2015 Source
Trip Advisor
August 24th, 2015
Real Italian Food! I've been telling everyone I know about this place since my first visit. This is the real deal when it comes to Italian food. The restaurant is small and cozy and the owners make you feel as if they are inviting you into their home. The pasta is hand rolled and cut, you can see them making it as you wait...they will even bring it to your table and show it to you before they cook it. And once it's cooked they bring the pan and place it on your table. Nothing fancy, just plain good! Try the homemade wine - you won't be disappointed but they do have other nice wines on offer as well. This has become my go to place when I'm looking for good Italian food in the Carlton area and everyone who I've sent their way and also raved about their food and hospitality. Source
Trip Advisor
August 24th, 2015
Just had your gluten free pizza for the very first time and I'm in heaven. The base was the best I've ever eaten. Topping was fabulous too. It was absolutely scrum diddlyosous. Thank you so much. anonymous August 13th, 2015
RATED Beautiful food, beautiful atmosphere! Would highly recommend the prosciutto cream pasta. The pasta is made in front of you and absolutely amazing. The host was hilarious, singing and having an awesome time. It was homely and service was fantastic. Authentic Italian at its best! Source
Zomato
July 27th, 2015
Went here for Mother's Day dinner and the food here is superb. Gnocchi pesto, pasta wmeatballs, garlic focaccia, margarita pizza, beautiful wine, gelato to finish and can't forget Giovanni on the mic belting out some tunes! Belissimo! Source
Zomato
July 16th, 2015
What a wonderful restaurant! The staff were so friendly and more than helpful when it came to suggestions for first-timers. The pasta was made fresh in plain view and the fettuccini marinara tasted amazing. During the night the owner (I presume) began singing Can't Help Falling In Love which complemented the cozy ambience. Worth the short walk from my hostel and I'll definitely be returning with a friend to show off this find. Source
Zomato
July 16th, 2015
We had THE BEST night at The Olive Jar last night. A group of 12 went here for my partners birthday. I booked this restaurant based on the reviews I had read on here. I had not been before. The atmosphere was great. Giovanni sang happy birthday and a few songs song which was fun. The food was delicious. We ordered the works! From antipasto platters, garlic pizzas. Bruschetta, pizza, pasta and desserts. Everything was amazing. Georgia our waitress was attentive and made our table have a wonderful night. BYO wine was a great option. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We will be back. Thank you so much!! Source
Zomato
June 25th, 2015
LIKES IT Went here for Mother's Day dinner and the food here is superb. Gnocchi pesto, pasta wmeatballs, garlic focaccia, margarita pizza, beautiful wine, gelato to finish and can't forget Giovanni on the mic belting out some tunes! Belissimo! Source
Urbanspoon
May 21st, 2015
Legit the best Pasta we have ever eaten in our entire lives!! Will defs be back you bunch of lads ( this guy is the best ) Source
The Olive Jar Facebook Page
April 27th, 2015
Had an amazing meal again at The Olive Jar, thanks to all the staff for your excellent food, wine and hospitality, Cheers from Ben, Claire & Molly from Ballarat. We'll be back! Source
The Olive Jar Facebook Page
April 27th, 2015
Authentic Italian food!! LIKES IT Came across this beautiful Italian Cafe by accident and boy am I glad I did! From the minute we walked in it felt like we were in Italy! The waitress was very attentive and the owner chef was so friendly and warm natured, ordered a pizza and the gnocchi which is hand made and the best gnocchi I have ever tasted! Served in the pan it was cooked in which was a lovely touch. From the plates to the decor it felt so homely and warm. The waitress even grated the fresh parmesan over our plates. Walked out with a huge smile! Will be taking my husband there soon Source
Urbanspoon
April 27th, 2015
Amazing FAVOURITE Cannot fault. Authentic homemade italian food (and house wine!) Generous servings Affordable Waitress did intially forget to bring our appetizers but were very friendly and apologetic about it. Love the cosiness of this place. Employers know how to treat their customers. Will be back. GRAZIE!! Source
Urbanspoon
April 27th, 2015
Felt like home After walking past this restaurant everyday and seeing the man in the window making the pasta I knew I had to try it. It didn't disappoint. The pasta was authentic and absolutely delicious. The service was lovely too and they made us feel at home. The one criticism would be that the servings need to be bigger. At least double the size. It's cute how the pasta comes out in the pan it was made in. Yummy! Source
Urbanspoon
April 27th, 2015
Incomparable Italian I have been eating at the Olive Jar since I first discovered it with my partner about three months ago. The friendliness of the service, the rustic and scrumptious food, the attention to detail, and the overall experience honestly makes me feel that I have just entered a humble Italian household where nonna has just cooked up a masterpiece. The food is rustic, hand cut and presented to you before cooking. The pasta is served in the pan it was cooked in. The desserts are made before your eyes. There isn't an iota of pretentiousness to the Olive Jar this family run restaurant holds its own by doing what it does best, Italian food in the authentic Italian way. And by God is it tasty! There is no other place like it in Melbourne and I have dabbled in quite a few Italian restaurants. Giovanni, thank you again for being such a wonderful host and taking care of us so well every time. Your restaurant is a diamond in the rough, and if anyone is heading towards Lygon St for Italian, I strongly suggest you traverse slightly further down the road to the Olive Jar. You won't be disappointed. Superb. Posted on 220315 Source
Urbanspoon
March 24th, 2015
Italian masterpiece! FAVOURITE Authentic is the most over used word by Italian restaurants. Finally we have found in Melbourne an Italian restaurant that is authentic at its absolute best! The food is that elusive wonder of a few good ingredients simply cooked. Perfection! Generous portions, pasta served at the table in the pan, yum! Forget Lygon street, this is where great Italian food comes from in Carlton. Posted on 130315 Source
Urbanspoon
March 16th, 2015
Must give it a go FAVOURITE DINER FROM MELBOURNE Used to live around the corner from this place years ago, it was always the most uninspiring looking Italian restaurant. I'd noticed they'd changed the name and done a slight refurbishment, but it wasn't until I had a customer mention up in carlton north that they'd eaten @ the Olive Jar and loved itwere impressed by the owners enthusiasm and passion for fresh food. Thought I'd give it a go and have been back twice since. $10 take home thin base pizzas are incredible. The hot salami one is my favourite for sure. These guys don't seem to need more reviews, every time I walk past they're absolutely slamming. Good on them, they do what they do well. Posted on 110315 Source
Urbanspoon
March 12th, 2015
Just cooked up your delicious home made pasta and pasta sauce. Delicious!!! Didn't need to add a thing.. So glad to have stumbled across you last night, beautiful family and amazingly authentic food. Can't wait to return! Source
Facebook
February 24th, 2015
Authentic Italian food at its best!! DINER FROM MELBOURNE The ambiance, service and food at The Olive Jar represents the true meaning of 'Authentic Italian'. Absolutely loved the whole experience definitely the best pizza, pasta and souffl I have had in Australia. Posted on 200115 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Simply the best!! FAVOURITE DINER FROM MELBOURNE What a hidden treasure! The best home made pizza and pasta I've tried in Melbourne. Love the place. Felt like I really was in Italy. Keep up the good work. Posted on 300115 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE We felt like we were in some little town in Italy. Amazing traditional pizza and pasta cooked from scratch. Giovanni, the chef and our host was very friendly and genuine, he made us feel like being at home with Nonno. The wine was tasty and amazing it went down treat.. He came over to grate aged mozzarella and olive oil drizzle over the pizza and pasta .. The then home made dolci deserts! This place is a little gem and a rare one these days .. Hard to find these little places. Belissima! Will be taking the whole family to wine and dine Posted on 180115 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Awesome authentic Italian and great service!!! D LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE Olive Jar Caf in Carlton is a lovely place to eat. It serves fresh, authentic, homemade Italian food. Im so glad I decided to give it a go yesterday ) The atmosphere is lovely, just so warm and welcoming it reminds me of my Nonnas place a fair bit with its bright ceramic tiles, the wooden tables and the beautiful music. The staff were polite and friendly and I was really pleased by the prompt service. The food was just incredible! The pizza was delicious and is by far the BEST pizza I have ever eaten in Australia.The dough was the perfect consistency and the best thing was that all the ingredients are so fresh and aromatic. As an Italian I know good food and this place definitely has it. The gelato was refreshing and creamy- it was just what I needed yesterday afternoon. Of course the coffee was perfectly brewed- it tasted just like the coffee I had in a little roadside caf in Rome last year. Theyve got the good stuff here and without a doubt they do it justice D The next time I come here, Ill will definitely be bringing my family. If you are after good hearty Italian food, a fantastic atmosphere and good service check this place out! Read less 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Posted on 040115 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Amazing Food and Fabulous Service (I need an I love it rating) LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE My husband and I ate at the the Olive Jar (twice!) whilst we were visiting from South Australia. The food and service is outstanding. We were made to feel at home whilst service standards remained high. The pasta and sauces are authentic and of the highest quality. They even tailor the menu to your preference (I don't like creamy sauces so they made me a different one!). - The wine is delicious too. The decor is lovely, cosy, and welcoming. Thank you so much for the great experience! We will be back on our next trip! Posted on 050115 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Pleasantly Surprised!! FAVOURITE DINER FROM MELBOURNE We stumbled upon this little gem by accident, and decided to give it a go because we were starving! We both love our pasta, and have been dissapointed on many occasions at other places... But not this time! The staff were absolutely wonderful, taking the time to explain the menu to us. The pasta dishes were delicious, and the tiramisu just melted in our mouths. We will definitely come back!! Posted on 040115 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Best Italian food. LIKES IT DINER FROM BRISBANE Wow! What a lucky find. This place serves up fantastic Italian food with great service and a very decent house wine. Best pasta and garlic focaccia I've ever had. Wish this place was in Brisbane. Posted on 271214 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Wow. magnifco FAVOURITE DINER FROM VICTORIA The food and service here is amazing. My husband said it's the best Italian meal he's ever had. I would agree. We drove from Ferntree Gully to try this restaurant. Homemade vino was delicious. Home made Ricotta Salata di' mito', 6 month aged. All I can say is this restaurant is sensational! !!!! Posted on 131214 Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Amazing autentico LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE I am an Italian journalist, i was recommended by a colleague of mine to dine at this autentico ristorante. Absolutely fantastic .We enjoyed the hand home made pasta and pizza made in front o us. ....Fantastico. Also the unique old fashion style of serving in padella (old fashion fry pan). Amazing and fresh . It took me back in italy in the old antico modo di cucina italiana. Source
Urbanspoon
February 6th, 2015
Best hand make fresh Seafood Pappardella in town, awesome traditional Rocciatia Toscana make on the table, very lovely owner, got a great time here, definitely will come back with our kids soon Source
Facebook
February 6th, 2015
Wow. magnifco DINER FROM VICTORIA The food and service here is amazing. My husband said it's the best Italian meal he's ever had. I would agree. We drove from Ferntree Gully to try this restaurant. Homemade vino was delicious. Home made Ricotta Salata di' mito', 6 month aged. All I can say is this restaurant is sensational! !!!! Source
Urbanspoon
December 29th, 2014
Best Italian food. DINER FROM BRISBANE Wow! What a lucky find. This place serves up fantastic Italian food with great service and a very decent house wine. Best pasta and garlic focaccia I've ever had. Wish this place was in Brisbane. source
urbanspoon
December 29th, 2014
Mobile review LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE Carlton Foodie 1 Review Best pizza and pasta in Carlton, hands down (I've tried them all). Superbly authentic pizza and pasta made right in front of your eyes by a charming old man from Venice. Excellent customer service too. I chatted excitedly with the staff about all the food I are from Venice and they offered to make me a special Venetian dish on my next visit. I highly recommend getting the salted, aged ricotta grated over any pizza you get. I will be a very loyal customer of the Olive Jar. Source
Urbanspoon
December 12th, 2014
Had dinner here tonight ....OMG!! Amazing homemade pasta Source
Facebook
December 12th, 2014
Great local Italian! LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE My boyfriend and I live just a short walk from The Olive Jar. It has become one of our regular haunts. The food, with an emphasis on traditional pizza and pasta, is uniformly excellent. The staff are attentive and friendly. The proprietor is a regular fixture. A particular favourite, for me, is the traditional Margarita pizza. Cheesy, crispy, with lots of tomato and basil - it is one of my all-time favourites! I highly recommend this restaurant for those in the neighbourhood or for people looking for a quality, good value Italian in Carlton. Needless to say, the area is full of places that are neither! Source
Urbanspoon
December 12th, 2014
Authentic Fresh Hand Made Pizza & Pasta LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE Skip Lygon Street ... enjoy this new Italian family owned restaurant. Great smiley service. Best fresh home made pasta rolled and handcut to order. Watch your pizza & pasta is being made with home grown ingredients & sauces. Rustic, clean, honest, simply best Italian home cooking in town in my opinion (even in comparison to some off the best restaurant I have tried in Italy). I have tried seafood pappardelle for lunch, its was divine! Fresh generous massive scallop and gigantic prawns tender calamari, cooked perfectly, rich in flavor of fresh basil, tomato, garden herbs and a dash of cream. Perfect al dente pasta! Can't wait to go back. For sure this restaurant will pick up the crowd in no time. Source
Urbanspoon
December 12th, 2014
GIVE UP ON LYGON ST DINER FROM MELBOURNE Once you have eaten the pasta here, you will find it difficult to do Italian on crowded, touristy Lygon St ever again. Freshly prepared pasta (I recommend the Prosciutto) with great service. It's as if you've been invited for dinner with an Italian family... stop reading and get there now! Source
Urbanspoon
December 12th, 2014
WHY HAVEN'T YOU EATEN HERE YET?! LIKES IT DINER FROM MELBOURNE I craved some pasta and was near expiring from hunger, so I walked down Rathdowne to try this place out. The food here is gorgeous! They make the pasta fresh and serve it in a pan (traditional way of serving, apparently), and the plate where you place your portions in is beautifully designed. I had the marinara, and the sauce is delicate enough to not overpower the sweetness of the seafood--which is cooked to mouth-melting perfection and served in generous amounts. Holy smokes those scallops! The pasta chef and other staff were quite sweet. If I were you, I'd get myself here rather than the hyped up but disappointing Lygon establishments. DEFINITELY WILL BE BACK! Source
Urbanspoon
December 12th, 2014
A delightful plate of calamari, served with vegetables and a light tomato dressing . Excellent flavour, rustic Italian style. Pleasant staff. A good experience. Hopefully some Italian Christmas carols soon. anonymous December 4th, 2014